The museum was founded in 1927 following the donation of 10,500 works from the third. Manos and operated until about 1974 Sinoiaponiko. Later enriched with other collections of works from Central Asia mainly and has since operated as an Asian. It also houses temporary thematic exhibitions.
It includes collections: Gregory Manos (about 10,500 works), N. Hatzivassiliou (450 projects), Ch. Chiotaki (341 projects), Peter Almanachos, Jordan Siniosoglou, John Glue and Corfu Municipality.
The museum is housed in the palace of Saint Michael and Saint George, which was built between 1819 and 1824, designed by architect George Whitemore. It neoclassical British style building Kidlston and Syon House and served as Armosteio, residence of each English Commissioner, seat of the Knights of St. Michael and George (founded in 1818), and the seat of the Ionian Senate (government) until the Union of the Ionian Islands with Greece. At the time of the Union of Eptanissa given by the English to Greek public and after 1864 was used as a summer palace of the kings of Greece, and for some years it housed the archaeological collection of Corfu.
On the ground floor rooms out historical relics and furniture from the time of the Ionian Senate. Upstairs is the impressive throne room, ballroom and banquet hall, various paintings and collections of Asian art museum that includes exhibits from China (periods Shang, Cheo, Han, Tang, Sung and Ming), Japanese origin exhibits (armor samurai warriors, theater masks Nov, objects Kabuki Theatre and others), as well as interesting exhibits from India, Korea, Cambodia, Thailand, Nepal and Tibet.
Of particular interest is the unique Helleno collection of sculptures from Gandhara, Pakistan, dating from the 1st to the 5th AD century and underlines the Hellenistic influence, a legacy of the presence of M. Alexander in the region.